My 100th Whisky tasted

I recently reached a whisky milestone, my 100th whisky tasted. This prompted two things. The first was naturally “I need to try and taste something special or different for my 100th”. Enter Marc of WhiskyBrother who said that he would provide me with a blind sample of something special for my 100th whisky. The only clue I was given was the ABV. You can follow Marc (@WhiskyBrother) and myself (@TheSmokyDram) on twitter tomorrow for my notes on what I think it is and the reveal from WhiskyBrother  as to what is actually is. My guess and what it is most likely to be continents apart.

Secondly, it got me looking back on my whisky journey so far. It has not been a very long one as it has only been four and a half months since my first blog post ‘Another SA whisky blog‘ and my first review ‘Laphroaig 10yo’, both of which were posted on March 24, 2013. However, my official tasting journey started just over a year ago, according to the first entry in my now (in)famous red moleskin whisky tasting notebook. This was when I attended a ‘Misty Isles’ tasting on the 19th June 2012 and where I tasted 4 whiskies; Jura Superstition, Highland park 12Yo, a Talisker 10Yo and a Laphroaig Quarter Cask.

So here’s to my 100th and to a very long whisky journey still to come.

Update: So my 100th was revealed by Marc to be none other than the Glenglassaugh 25 Year Old, which was bottled for the Whisky Academy.

Glenglassaugh 25yo_Smoky Dram

It is a vintage cask of Glenglassaugh specially selected by Jonathan Miles for the Whisky Academy. It was distilled in 1986, before the distillery was mothballed, selected and bottled in 2011.

Sláinte
Edward

The Smoky Dram Whisky Blog

3 thoughts on “My 100th Whisky tasted

  1. Pingback: Celebrating a couple of ones | The Smoky Dram

Your comments and thoughts are welcome . . .

